Workshop – Clay – Sculpting with Claire Curneen

Beginnings of my tree

Beginnings of my tree

We were lucky enough to not only have a lecture from Claire Curneen (my favourite living artist), but for her to give us a workshop in the techniques she uses to sculpt with clay. Rather than coiling, Claire uses slabs which are then pinched together which we then used in order to make a tree sculpture.

I found the process relatively simple and intuitive, and Claire said I was “a natural” and “very talented” (I nearly died), and building inwards from my wide base allowed me to create a very tall tree (the tallest in fact) which towered over the rest.

 

 

 

 

 

Look! Claire Curneen’s right there! Behind my glorious tree, towering over all the others.

Leave a Reply

