Workshop – Raku – Pinch Pot

To see photos of the finished pot click here

For the Raku firing we made our own pinch pots and flat bowls, which are meant to resemble the type of objects found in a japanese tea ceremony. While I don’t like my “dish” object, I am quite fond of my tea bowl. Although I think I prefered it before it was fired as the grain of the clay was strangely endearing against my skin, and the glaze on the inside is slightly too sparkley for my liking

A Japanese tea ceremony

A Japanese tea ceremony

.

Pinch an indent into the center, and continue pinching while turning until you get the shape you want

Pinch an indent into the center, and continue pinching while turning until you get the shape you want

I began with a ball of clay

I began with a ball of clay

.

Roll a sausage and attach to the bottom for it to stand on

Roll a sausage and attach to the bottom for it to stand on

Raku required a special type of glaze, unglazed areas will turn black

Raku required a special type of glaze, unglazed areas will turn black

.

We used two types of glazes, a white and a blue

We used two types of glazes, a white and a blue

.

I don't know what I was doing with this really

I don’t know what I was doing with this really

My ugly dish, thing.

My ugly dish, platform, thing.

..

Finished tea bowl

Finished tea bowl

IMAG0618

top view

The bottom was left unglazed

The bottom was left unglazed

..my finished.. dish. I really don't like it

..my finished.. dish. I really don’t like it

I left the bottom unglazed because I just didn't want to spend any more time with it

I left the bottom unglazed because I just didn’t want to spend any more time with it

2 Comments on “Workshop – Raku – Pinch Pot”

  1. […] To see how it was made click here […]


Leave a Reply

