Wailmer beanbag (in progress)

So, seeing as I’m moving out soon, and my accommodation doesn’t have much furniture (as beautiful as it is) I figured making a beanbag would be the perfect project. However, rather than making just a standard beanbag I thought I would be a little more adventurous and artistic, and try to make something I’d been thinking about for a while, a Wailmer beanbag!

wailmer

Omega-Ruby-Alpha-Sapphire

 

 

Wailmer is a pokemon, and with the upcoming release of Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire, it makes it topical as well as functional.

 

So, this is how I’m making the beanbag

IMAG1536 First I bought 3 meters of this red fabric. Obviously Wailmer isn’t red, as you can see from the picture above, but I will be using this fabric to create the lining bag which will hold the beans. While you can buy beans in a handy fabric case designed for beanbags, I thought it would be best to practice cutting and sewing the pattern before doing it for the actual outside, so that if something goes wrong I haven’t wasted valuable fabric and the mistakes can’t be seen from the outside.

 

 

 

 

IMAG1537I folded over the corner of the fabric to make a nice even square.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1539 I cut out two of these squares, which will be used for the top and bottom of the beanbag

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1541 I measured from the centre of the square, to the edge which came to 41 centimetres. So it would seem the square of fabric I cut out was not a meter squared, which I really should have thought about earlier as this results in the beanbag being VERY LARGE. But ah well

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1543 I then pivoted the tape measure around from the centre, placing a pin at 42 cm from the center at each position, making a reasonably accurate circle.

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1546I then cut the circles out of both squares of fabric. As I said earlier, these will be the base and top pieces of the bean bag.

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1548So, after a bit of maths, I have this VERY LONG piece of fabric. This will be the circumference of the beanbag, and there will be two of these strips, on around the top half and the other around the bottom, joined in the middle.

You can work out the circumference of a circle by using 2Ο€r, with r being the radius of the circle, in my case 41. So, 2 x 3.14 x 41 = 257 cm, which is 2 meters and 57 cms of fabric. However, seeing as I want the beanbag to be rounded, rather than a simple cylinder, I want the radius of the centre to be wider than the top and base circles, so doing that calculation again with a radius of 60 cm, we have 2 x 3.14 x 60 = 377 cm (3 meters and 77 cms of fabric.)

I am using the longer length, and will have to fold the top off the fabric to fit the top and base circumference

IMAG1556

The two strips are 30 cm wide each, which will form the middle of the beanbag, ideally making the height of the beanbag just under 1 meter tall

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1549

 

The same strip of fabric in a rough circle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1550 I have folded the top of the strip of fabrics into pleats in order to make the length of the top of the strip a smaller circumference to fit around the circle. I am not doing this in any sort of mathematical sense, simply folding in roughly even spaces to make it fit

 

 

 

 

IMAG1551 This is the strip pinned around one of the circles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1554 Me sitting on what is essentially a flat laid out beanbag. As you can see, it is a lot larger than an average beanbag…

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1597I tacked all of the seams, holding them in place so that I can then sew them in place properly using the sewing machine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1599I’m not great with sewing machines, and I had a lot of frustration getting started and trying to set up the machine, so I had to go quite carefully when sewing.

 

 

 

 

 

IMAG1595…so I bought two, large bags of polystyrene beans, and as you can see, it is not enough beans. Not nearly enough beans. This beanbag is going to be VERY LARGE.

Realising this, I had a choice where I could cut down the fabric smaller, which would involve unstitching everything I’ve done so far, but making a more manageable sized bag. On the other hand, a bigger beanbag means buying more (surprisingly expensive) beans. However, it’s going to be awesome. So screw it. Huge beanbag it is.

 

3 Comments on “Wailmer beanbag (in progress)”

  1. Super excited to see how this turns out!

  2. […] the first set of steps as I was working on it go to this blog post, and for the second set of steps go to the next blog […]


Leave a Reply

