SEED – Sedna project – glazing my first house

While I very much enjoy sculpting and using clay, when it comes to glazing it has to be said that I know very little. Up until this point whenever I have completed a ceramic piece, it has either been left unglazed or I have used glazes that I have been provided. Once again this lack of experience has limited my options in terms of finishing my work, and with there being very little time left before submission I do not have the time to go about researching glazes and then making my own. Thankfully the ceramics technician already had several premixed glazes, which although weren’t what I had in mind, did suit my purposes and had a colour scheme that I could use.

pre mixed glazes, all on top of white glaze aside from bottom right

pre mixed glazes, all on top of white glaze aside from bottom right

While this limited choice of glazes isn’t ideal, it is not a problem for me to have a restricted pallet, as I originally only planned to have a small set of colours that I would use across all the buildings so as to have a uniform aesthetic.

mixing the glaze

mixing the glaze

Applying the glaze involved first mixing them so that they were even without the sediment having settled on the bottom, and then applying 3-4 coats onto the ceramic surface. I was told to begin with the lightest colours first, so I started with carefully painting the window frames (outside and inside) as well as giving the inside several coatings of white glaze.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

While the inside will not be visible, it is important to apply glaze on the inside of a surface when possible so as not to cause uneven tension between the outside and inside of a vessel which can result in cracks. After this I then sponged on the red glaze onto the main body of the house, and the blue onto the roof, painting the glaze on with a paint brush in the smaller areas.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The reason I am only glazing this house is that I intend to use it as a test, so that I can see whether or not I like the effect of the glaze and whether or not it comes out the kiln in a good state. As well as this, the largest building is still yet to be bisque fired, as I am having difficulty getting it into a kiln due to it being so large, and so it would not be possible to fire all my pieces together at this point anyway. While I don’t have much choice in terms of glazes, as I previously mentioned, if the glaze turns out disastrously or causes my building to break in the kiln, then I will have no choice but to find an alternative. While this should not be the case, as I have seen samples of the glaze when fired, as well as being reassured by the ceramics technician, there is no harm in being careful.

Leave a Reply

