BAMS – Medal project – Second Patina

After my first patination I found that quite a lot of the patina had washed off, and while the polish on the fingers was visible, it was not as clear and distinct as I would have liked. As well as this, many areas on the edge of the ring were blotchy and unpatinated, and I felt it was necessary to attempt a second round of patinating.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once again the medals came out very dark, but I was careful not to spray the patina in a way that pools onto the fingers and covers the skin pattern, and made sure not to wash any of it off the fingers.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once again I scrubbed  the patina off the flat surface of the medals with an abrasive rag and water

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis time I polished the fingers far more carefully, making sure to take as much time as I needed, and I think this definitely paid off. The contrast between the patina and the polish is much clearer, and I feel it is more recognisable as a reflection of the reverse of the medal. The contrast between light and dark also makes it more clear that the polished areas are of particular importance, whereas before it was easy to mistake it as unintentional.

 

Leave a Reply

