BAMS – Medal project – Completed photos

To watch the video that goes with these medals, click here
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES


SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES


SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES


SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES


SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After many trials and tribulations, my pair of medals is finally completed. During the process I have had many problems and often doubted the design as being unclear or unrepresentative of the notion of intimacy that I’m trying to convey. However, now that they are finished and displayed I think that they do in fact convey this in the way that I imagined they would at the beginning of the design process. I think perhaps part of the problem was due to the nature of sketches being inherently different to the final product in that while they might be accurate representations of the object they are missing something inherent about the quality of an object itself. I think it is perhaps one of the reasons that those I asked had such a difficult time understanding what my medals were trying to express when just looking at sketches and prototypes, as they could not fully visualise the finished outcome in the way that I was.

Another aspect of the physical medals is their display. I had always envisioned the display of the medals as standing side by side.

medals - pair frontWhile I do like this display, and especially the way in which the two hands lean towards each other, it makes it difficult to display the reverse of the medals and that they are meant to be reflections of one another. When taking photographs of the medal (seen at the top of this post) and playing around with display and composition, I placed the medals so that they were standing opposite one another.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI find that this display is much stronger, as not only does it demonstrate the fact that the medals are a pair, it also shows the notion of touch in a much clearer manner. The distance between them not only allows you to see the reverse side, which is then more distinguishable as being made by the hand on the opposite medal, but it also creates a tension, a sense of longing. One of the problems I have been having with the designs and throughout the process was the issue of people not understanding that the imprint on the reverse of one medal, was made by the hand of the other. With this display, when looking at the male hand they are then only able to see the male imprint on the reverse of the opposite medal, and vice versa, and when viewed in this way it is more identifiable that the imprint was made by that set of fingers. I also think with this in mind it is then also more recognisable that the imprint on the reverse is also reflected in the polish on the fingers.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The polish itself works very well in my opinion, with it being clear yet not strikingly obvious. While it doesn’t necessarily perfectly mimic the exact size and shape of the pattern of the reverse, I do not feel this is a problem as both sides cannot be viewed at once to compare against. I am glad in reflection that I chose to make the “touched” areas polished on top of the patinated hand, rather than patinated on top of a polished hand. I certainly think that the bright shine represents the tingling sensation on the skin much more accurately than the patination.

3 Comments on “BAMS – Medal project – Completed photos”

  1. […] This video is made to be played when viewing my medals, click here to view the finished medals […]

  2. […] series or a set of medals. This was something which even came through in my work last year, making a pair of medals, and I think it is linked to my enjoyment of the rhythym of medalsl and wanting to extend this […]


Leave a Reply

