SEED – Sedna project – Lighting houses

Now that I have most of my ceramic houses out the kiln, I can finally get to the matter of wiring them up with SEDNA lights. While I originally planned to use a series of sensors and arduino in order to change the strength of the lights, causing them to be brighter and flicker the closer that a person gets to the piece, I have not been able to implement this due to nobody being available to teach me the basics of arduino.

sedna LEDs, wire, a 9V battery and a battery clip

sedna LEDs, wire, a 9V battery and a battery clip

I began with these basic components, and while this may be very simple to someone with any small degree of computing knowledge, for me this alone was extremely daunting.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Thankfully I have had some experiencing with soldering in the past on a handful of occasions, and while I wouldn’t say that I am confident with soldering I was able to manage on my own. This involved soldering the positive red wires together, and the negative black or white and black striped wires together to complete a circuit between the LEDs and the battery clip.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI was advised by a first year that by cutting a small section of plastic tube, and then placing it over the soldered wire and heating with a flame, it then seals so that it is more secure and no longer an exposed section of wire

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once the wires are connected up, I could then attach the battery clip onto the 9V battery which lit up the lights! This was extremely exciting to me, even if it is only a small feat, it felt like a real achievement for me.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Putting the lights inside the buildings was not such a technical matter, using masking tape to hold the lights and wires in place

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

With the lights inside, I must say I find these buildings even more appealing. The pieces themselves are quaint and I feel that they would sell very well, especially in a craft setting. With the lights, not only are they decorative they also have a novel and functional quality, which allows it to appeal to a market outside the art world.

 

Leave a Reply

