IoT – Fly ceramic decals

After some tribulation with trying to find a laser printer which I could load my own paper into, I managed to get my flies printed onto my ceramic decal paper.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI figured seeing as I only had one sheet, and I couldn’t print onto it more than once I may as well completely fill it, and this also leaves me with the option of making plenty of dead fly tableware in future.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfter laminating it, I carefully cut out some of the dead flies. This was difficult as the drawings are hard to see between the two layers of paper, but holding it up to the light I was able to see enough to cut an accurate silhouette

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
First, the instructions said to turn the image so that it is “right reading”. I can only assume that this means opposite to the way it was printed? And then wet that side with a damp sponge. After 30 seconds, slide off the white paper on the top layer.

Then submerge the decal in water until soaked, and remove, then placing face down (revealed side down) onto your surface.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOnce your happy with your decals, put it in the oven at 180 degrees for 10 minutes

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After this, leave it to cool in lukewarm water for 3-5 minutes. The instructions then say to remove the “clear plastic film” from the surface of decals, but gently trying to peel away at it I found I was only pulling the decal itself off. This is likely something that I’ve done wrong, but nonetheless the end product looks great

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

